Current Style: Standard

Current Size: 100%

Arushi organises 13th Car Rally for the Blind

Mon, 01/14/2019 - 11:04 -- geeta.nair

Arushi organised ‘The 13th Car Rally for the Blind’ here on Sunday. Dilip Suryawanshi, MD Dilip Buildcon and Sarit Kumar Choudhary from IGRMS were present as the Chief Guest and flagged off the first vehicle which was driven by Aruneshwar Singhdeo and navigator Kamal Bhamore and started the rally from DB Mall, MP Nagar, Bhopal.

Many other guests, volunteers of Arushi and staff were also present. The Rally was supported by Amway, Directorate of Sports and Youth Welfare, LIC, IGRMS, MP Tourism, Indian Oil Corporation and Aquarius.

The rally moved through clear roads from DB Mall to Paryawas Bhawan, MP Nagar, Arera Hills, Jail Road, Ravindra Bhawan, Professors Colony, Bharat Bhawan, Boat Club and ended at IGRMS. Enroute were check points to ensure, no-one drives fast, and all traffic rules were strictly followed.

The rally where the vehicle was driven by a sighted person and the navigator was a blind person, the route map in Braille was given to them on the spot. The navigators for the rally were from all over Madhya Pradesh. The rally covered around 30 kms distance within the Bhopal Municipal limits. The route of the rally was managed by Event Management Group-Genius.

Throughout the route, all road safety norms and speed limits were strictly followed as told by the event manager Neeraj Gulati from Genius-a Creative group who was the creator of the Route of the rally. This time a quiz was also added with questions about Arushi which was to be solved after the completion of the rally. Arushi transcribed the route map in Braille.

Competitors finishing with minimum penalty points were declared the winners, as there was one penalty point for each minute delay and 5 penalty points on entering one minute early at the check points. The prize distribution programme was organised at Indira Gandhi Rashtriya Manav Sangrahalaya. SK Chaudhary, Director Manav Sangrahalaya, BL Das, Regional Manager Corporate Communications, Jitendra Raje, Managing Director EPCO, Shakti Singh from Amway and Rohit Trivedi from Arushi were present for giving the prizes to the winners.

The winners were- Shraddha Jhunjhunwala was adjudged first in Car No; 36 with navigator Priyesh Gupta Rs  10,000), Rahul Choudhary in Car No; 24 with navigator Ramkaran Yadav and Pooja Jaiswal in Car No;) with navigator Mamta Prajapati stood second with cash prize of Rs 6,000 and Reba Rai in Car No; 17 with navigator Premdas Hariyale was third in the competition and received prize of Rs 4,000 cash.

There were cash prizes by Amway and trophies for first three winners by Fortune Builders and Daikin Cooling Solutions and gifts to all navigators by IGRMS. Total 50 vehicles participated in the rally. The navigators were from 30 districts of Madhya Pradesh. There were special prizes for participants was completed the rally with minimum penalty points. A running trophy in the name of Late Rakesh Sharma who was the regular and most enthusiast participant was also given to Ravi Gupta.

Out of the 50 participants only 10 completed the rally with all Passage and Time Control Points. Everyone was super excited after the completion of the rally and enjoyed a lot. All participants were given Mementos, certificates and other prizes. Bhumika Birthare was the host of the event.

Month of Issue: 
Year of Issue: 
2 019
Segregate as: 

Facebook comments